Yadi signs extension

As most of you know, Yadi signed an extension this afternoon.  I am happy for him and realize that he is one of the top defenders behind the plate in MLB.  But I wonder if we over value defense and what it means to wins.  Is Yadi’s defense really more valuable than Bryan Anderson’s bat?  And yes, I know that Anderson is still more than a year away. 

 I had a chance to talk to Anderson about the Yadi’s deal.  He says he is happy for him and says maybe he (Anderson) should start taking some flyballs and grounders.

 I hope you guys clicked on my links to my Winter Warm Up coverage. 

Keep checking the Birdhouse for more from the Winter Warm Up. 

1 Comment

Filed under Baseball

One response to “Yadi signs extension

  1. “Is Yadi’s defense really more valuable than Bryan Anderson’s bat?”

    Short answer: Yes.

    Obviously I’m not as in touch as you and the Birdhouse gang, but I honestly think it’s not even close. I understand that Anderson is a big time hitter at such a young age, but when talking about catchers (the guy that has an effect on every single pitch of every single at-bat), no bat is as valuable as stellar defense.

    Also, I didn’t get to attend the Winter Warm-up, but I really enjoyed your coverage.

Leave a Reply

